Wednesday, December 07, 2005

 

Blogs and web sites spamvertised by web site contact form - There is hope!

I manage a number of sites for myself and my clients. Over the past couple of months there has been an increasing problem with spam that is sent to us via site contact forms, and also spammers looking for forms they can use to send spam from. I discovered that if I have forms send email and the sender's email address is used as the sender of the form email, that some code can be placed in the email field and the script can them be used to send hundreds of spam emails from my server. Well we got that under control now, but we don't have a good answer yet for junk sent to us where it looks like someone has filled out a form but it's just to advertise some site.
 
I noticed that some of the sites advertised were actually blogs, and hosted at Blogger. I decided to see if I could get them interested and it worked. All of the sites you will see below are now blasted into the nothingness they deserve to be blasted to!
 
As you will see below, the next time you see a blogger-hosted blog that offends in some way, you can "Flag" it and they will check it out. If they agree with you, it will be removed from places where it can be easily found, and in some cases it may be removed completely. Thanks Blogger, you ROCK!!!
 
(hris

Hello Chris,

Thanks for writing us regarding these blogs. We will examine them soon and take action as necessary.

Please note that if you encounter other such content in the future, you can use our automated flagging mechanism to bring this to our attention.

For further information on the "Flag As Objectionable" feature, please see Blogger Help:

http://help.blogger.com/bin/answer.py?answer=1200

Sincerely,
Blogger Support

Original Message Follows:
------------------------

From:  <christian>
Subject: TOS violation: Spamvertised Blogs
Date: Mon, 05 Dec 2005 01:44:48 -0000

We are getting spam via our contact forms for a number of sites and now also for blogs. Here is an example:

PPH Contact form submitted on December 4, 2005, 5:31 pm

First name: Belly Dancer
Last name: Belly Dancer
Address: Belly Dancer
City: Belly Dancer
State: Belly Dancer
Zip: Belly Dancer
Phone: Belly Dancer
Email: webmaster@poker.de
______________________________________________
Comments: <a href=http://aboutpolyphonicringtones.blogspot.com/ title=\"Belly Dancer\">Belly Dancer</a> Two salt-furnaces of double-crossing rain scandalized her that day, and she sade her calves through the skyline, but harnessed a covering from the second. We dresse yorself of falling off this nominal

Here are some additional blogs that we have received spam for:

http://a--tony--christie.blogspot.com
http://comtrapstar.blogspot.com
http://indownloadringtone.blogspot.com
http://is2pac.blogspot.com
http://ofcingularringtones.blogspot.com
http://on--charlotte-church.blogspot.com
http://that-polyphonic-ringtones.blogspot.com
http://wascingularwirelessringtones.blogspot.com
http://whocingularwirelessringtones.blogspot.com
http://wwwmotorolaringtone.blogspot.com

I know you cannot do anything about the abuse of our forms, but I hope you will find enough cause to shut down the sites they are using. I would love to provide you with copies of these and all others that are spamvertised this way, just provide an email address to send them to. If you have any questions, please let me know. I use and enjoy your service and hate to see it abused this way.

Thank you,
Chris Nielsen


This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

consulting | consultants | Search Engine Optimization | SEM | seo